SAFE HAVEN ON A SUNDAY

THIS POST TITLE WILL NOT BE IN THE TYPICAL COLOUR OF GREEN!

Happy St Pat’s Day, I am wearing my green converse shoes and a vintage green flowery shirt to celebrate the day… oh and some trousers.  Here is three Irish Jokes for you below:

Q: How can you tell if an Irishman is having a good time?
A: He’s Dublin over with laughter!!

Q: Why can’t you borrow money from a leprechaun?
A: Cos they’re always a little short.

Q: What is black and blue and found floating up sidedown in the Irish sea?
A: Someone who’s tells a stupid Irish joke.

Colin and I got up early this morning to go into town to the movies.  It was a good one called ‘Safe Haven’ by the same writer as ‘The Notebook’.  We wanted to go early and didn’t have a lot to chose from.  The movie swings a little towards a girly flick, but Colin enjoyed it all the same.  The story has a good ending with a twist.

I shed a couple of tears, but hid them from Colin in the dark, otherwise if he had of seen, he would have taken the piss out of me.  I won the tickets last Wednesday at work at our staff meeting, the tickets only had two weeks left to use them, I also got a certificate for 5 years service at my work place.  🙂

After the movie we went to a couple of ‘real’ shops (not 2nd hand ones), then we went and brought an icecream, actually I fibbed 🙂      ……Colin didn’t want one, so I got one for myself, yeah I know… I’m a guts.   I picked a goody, goody gum drop flavour with a scoop on top of rum and raisin, yum.

Yum

Yum

yum

yum

There was plenty of Irish in town, I love their accents, and also Irish music and dancing.  I can do a little bit of Irish Dancing, I learnt with a friend two years ago.   The ‘Scarfies’ in town were dressed up in green, some being drunk already at lunch time…. in Dunedin we call our University Students ‘Scarfies’.    Oh I wish I was really young again to party during the day. ha ha

Saint Paddys Day

Saint Paddys Day

After getting home, doing a little bit of housework, it has starting pissing down with rain.  We do need it though for our water tanks.   It is depressing looking out of the window, it is dull and grey.  I’ve just heard on the radio that Auckland has had an earthquake after 4pm, not a huge one, but still scary.

I have now turned some good old New Zealand Music on to brighten up the mood, I almost need the lights on it is terribly dark for 430pm.

I have just finished baking some nutty bread with plenty of seeds.  It is Gluten Free, I haven’ t made any for ages.  The freezer was empty this morning when I went to have a piece for breakfast.  I normally have a treat of breakfast every Sunday and look forward to a piece of toast.  To my lack of amusement, I had to have a rice cake instead 😦  I made it taste better by piling it high with peanut butter 🙂  I’ll be all set for next Sunday with my two loaves below, I slice them up and freeze them.

Gluten Free Bread with nuts and seeds

Gluten Free Bread with nuts and seeds

Tonight I am going to have a go at making a Gluten Free Apple (my giant ones from my tree) and Sponge pudding.  I have made the custard already, it is rather lumpy, nevermind.   I have just finished stewing the apples and will finish off later after tea/dinner.  Colin will cook tea, he normally does in the weekends.  

I have never made any sort of sponge before in my life, let alone a GF one, it will be interesting using rice and maize flour.  It is sometimes hit and miss with Gluten Free Baking.   It may be dry and not hold together or rise, I may get a surprise, fingers crossed.  My Mum used to be a fantastic cook/baker.  She used to make us all either a cream sponge cake or Pavlova for our birthdays every year.   

I will finish with some ‘greenie’ pictures of stuff I like.  I am feeling a little tired now, I need a nana nap, I went for a huge 2 hour walk yesterday afternoon with about 10 friends. Yaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnnn!  

 Happy St Patrick’s Day especially to all the Irish living in NZ.

Bye Bye

(yes, I am so predictable & had to put my favourite colour green somewhere).

I like trees

I like trees

And Chocolate

And Chocolate

These are like my green converse shoes I'm wearing

These are like my green converse shoes I’m wearing

I have a sweet tooth and love cakes

I have a sweet tooth and love cakes

I love VW's especially Kombis

I love VW’s especially Kombis

I love designer chairs

I love designer chairs

I love doing a jig

I love doing a jig

I love hats

I love hats

Danish Panton chairs

Danish Panton chairs

Last but certainly not least, I love British Bulldogs

Last but certainly not least, I love British Bulldogs

Leave a Reply

