I’VE GOT NITS

I LOVE TO KNIT

It is almost the weekend, it has been a super busy and tiring week at work.  I am just about to pick up my knitting needles to try and finish my ‘special &  funny’ hat I have been knitting off and on for awhile now. It is slow, but working out… I think.

I almost feel so tired that I wouldn’t mind hopping in bed, I can’t… it is only 8pm.   Just thought I would have a quick look to see if I have any emails.  Two, one of which is a boring joke, the other is from my friend, telling me her son and partner have had there first baby yesterday.  Barb will be a Grandma or Nana for the very first time.  She has just turned 50, and looks way too young to be a Grandparent.

Barb has even spoilt me and emailed a photo of her and her baby Grand Daughter, Mia.  She is a 9 lb girl, she is a sweetie and looks like she has been in the world for weeks.  I would love to share the photo with you, but can’t as I haven’t asked permission.

I must buy Barbara a Congratulations card tomorrow on my way to the Farmers Market.  I am sure I will find an ideal one for becoming a Gran or Nana.   Maybe I should start knitting a babies bonnet. 🙂

I am not a wonderful knitter (only average), I can’t do anything flash or big fancy patterns, I do enjoy trying to make different or vintage items.  Often we help from the knitting shop or someone I know.

Knitting is so relaxing.  I will share some items I would like to make or ones I know I love, but couldn’t manage, they are way too advanced for me.  Most of below is some stuff that I have had a go at , mostly in the last two years.  They turned out pretty ok and get used or worn alot.

Knitting is not just for Nana’s and the older people now-a-days, it’s trendy again.  🙂  Give it a go, you can have nits too .

I am looking forward to a walk with my Club tomorrow after a guitar lesson.  I hope the rain buggars off. I may have to wear a handmade woolly hat.

Have a nice weekend.

For my pony tail

For my pony tail

Mia would look good in this, if only I could make one

Mia would look good in this, if only I could make one

 

My 'no calories' Choc Gateaux - it's Gluten Free too. This is one of my items I have knitted.  I started it in hospital when I was bored out of my brains and they wouldn't let me go home.

My ‘no calories’ Choc Gateaux – it’s Gluten Free too.
This is one of my items I have knitted. I started it in hospital when I was bored out of my brains and they wouldn’t let me go home.

Knitted Chocolate Gateaux (24)

I like this 2

I like this 2

Teapot cosy

Teapot cosy

I like this stool

I like this stool

 

 

 

 

Learning to master a leaf pattern

Learning to master a leaf pattern

I did it, my Shrug in a chunky favourite blue colour

I did it, my Shrug in a chunky favourite blue colour, also wearing one of my Icord necklaces

The back , knitted a couple of years ago

The back , knitted a couple of years ago

Devil cosy

Devil cosy

 

Gloves have been a favourite, a friend in Auckland sent me this pattern quite awhile back.  I mastered them after a little bit of trouble working out the pattern.  Since then I have about 4 pairs.  I have got chill blains in my fingers for the last couple of years as well as my toes, so I need to wear them.  I was hoping to avoid them this year, but they are starting to swell up.  Fingers crossed, and toes, ha ha that I don’t get either, as they are painful and an eyesore.

My very first pair,  in my favourite colour

My very first pair, in my favourite colour

Me hiding my fingers

Me hiding my fingers

Some reddy ones, these needles are tricky

Some reddy ones, these needles are tricky

 

My wire cardy and Maori Kete bag brooch I made a long time ago

My wire cardy and Maori Kete bag brooch I made a long time ago

My knitted bangles my friend Jen made me

My knitted bangles my friend Jen made me

A birthday cake I have knitted to give to someone sometime.

A birthday cake I have knitted to give to someone sometime.

My first pair of socks I knitted with expensive sock wool

My first pair of socks I knitted with expensive sock wool

My heart brooches

My heart brooches

some longer ones for my sausage toes

some longer ones for my sausage toes

 

I want to do this on my tree

I want to do this on my tree

Yes, even men knit, all over the world!

Yes, even men knit, all over the world!

The ideal boyfriend

The ideal boyfriend

I love this drawing

I love this drawing

 

RIGHT – THAT’S IT, I am begging myself to stop adding photos.

See you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

