I’M HOME

HOME SWEET HOME

I have been home almost a week now, I am still sore and a bit tired but improving each day.  I am so pleased this latest lot (and hopefully last lot) of bowel surgery is over.

Kew Hospital was very nice, I only had one nasty nurse on the night shift. It was terribly cold rainy weather down there in Invercargill, but the Hospital was cosy enough.  I was in a room with 3 other nice ladies.   One lady had been attacked by German Shepherds and had surgery on her leg, the other lady had bowel surgery too and the older lady across from me was a cutie.  She was in the Surgical ward even though she was having a two week assessment stay for Alzehiemers prior to being placed in a nursing home, unbeknown to her.  Maybe our ward was the only one that had a spare bed?

She was very comical and gave us all a laugh, she tried to escape a few times, so the nurses  safety pinned an alarm to the back of her nighty.  It went off a few times, and woke us all, what a hoot. She was such a sweet lady, all she wanted was to go home to her own house, at least she will settle down and be soon safely cared for in the nursing/rest home.

Anyway back to me… my Surgeon was happy with the way the Operation went, he put stainless steel mesh inside to lift everything into the correct place.  I think I might beep even more at the airport now going thru security! 🙂   When he was doing the operation he found my small bowel had a kink in it, he managed to untangle it, so that wouldn’t of helped not been able to empty properly after eating.   I had a spinal block and then the laparoscopy surgery.

The Surgeon said time will tell whether the Surgery is helpful/successful = fingers crossed.  The operation is called a Rectopexy procedure, sometimes it is not helpful, sometimes it makes things worse or prolapses again, and sometimes a big gain, I am positive that this will be the one for me, I AM going to get the 50 % success rate.  🙂  I have managed to eat small meals every night for a week now with a little help of drugs to get rid of the …um….can I say it … poos.  🙂

It was 5 degrees today, bitterly cold with snow showers during the day..brrrrrrrr

I will now go and sit beside the fire and start knitting a new beanie hat for Colin.

I will keep on keeping on!

A special hello to my wee Sis in Brisbane, Australia.  Brenda is a brat  🙂 but still my favourite and only sister.  🙂 

Before we came home Colin and I went to Bluff for a coffee.  It is verrrrry cold at the verrrrry bottom of New Zealand

Before we can home Colin and I went to Bluff for a coffee. It is verrrrry cold at the verrrrry bottom of New Zealand

Kew Hospital, I love the entrance to the main doors

Kew Hospital, I love the entrance to the main doors

On my way to the Pre Operation Appointment, an impressive sky.

On my way to the Pre Operation Appointment, an impressive sky.

Our coffee in  the best restaurant in Bluff, admiring the view thru the glass.

Us admiring the wonderful view behind the glass in the best restaurant in Bluff,- ‘The Drunken Sailor’. I love the mini Chelsea sugar sachets too, very cute.

The fab view

The fab view

Leave a Reply

