FATHER’S DAY IN HOSPITAL

GOLLIWOG PRESSIE

We were all hoping that Colin would be coming home well in time for Father’s Day tomorrow, but it is not to be.  😦

I have just arrived home from seeing him after going to the Farmers Market this morning, he is tired and feeling sick again, struggling to eat anything for breakfast.   One good thing, his neutrofil levels have finally coming up to 1.0. yay for him ,…the door is now open after more than two weeks in isolation.  A bit of fresh air from the corridors is great, and to be able to see the outside world wandering past…paitents and visitors is super. 

Colin has been struggling this last week (and me), he has got another infection – a fungal one …it has made him even sicker after the second lot of chemotherapy.   He has so many sores in his mouth also and part of his tongue is eaten away.   The Doctors are working hard to get him well.  His face has gone down a bit since the middle of the week , I got a fright seeing half his face swollen,  his eye is fully open now.

He has to get an operation on Tuesday now, he will be put to sleep and the bone up his nose will be chipped away 😦  sounds sore.  He has developed really bad Sinus, it has to be addressed and the operation done now, as the next lot of chemo and having no immunity again could make it happen again.  I wish him so much luck for a speedy recovery from that.  

He seemed quite chirpy and talkative this morning, I was there early, I can’t sleep that well lately, so got up super early, also Colina our cat stuck her cold paw in my ear, then starting licking it.eewww!

I will go back again to the hospital after tea to Colin.  I plan on going to my Harriers Club at 130pm today…half an hour away.  My foot is still tender but so so much better, the District Nurse came yesterday and is happy with it now… Thank goodness it is finally getting better.  :)I look forward to seeing everyone at the club, I may have to go in the ‘Medium’ pack of walkers though, as I have lost my fitness.

No more lambs yet..I want some more to be born.    

Our Daughter has brought Colin a few nice things for Fathers Day, a nice trendy dress shirt, a sweatshirt, a lotto ticket and scratchies too.   I found a second hand Golliwog at the start of the week after work while snooping in a 2nd hand shop.  It is hand knitted.  It had no eyes or mouth, so I am busy jazzing him up a bit.  I have knitted him a blue scarf last night, I forget how to tie them!    Also have added some new glass eyes, one large and one small eyeball and different colours too, just for fun.  Also this is what Col looked like the other day, half shut eye.     Also have added a super smiley mouth.   I am adding some more wild hair too. I have taken a photo to show you so far…I am not sure how I am going to remove the existing glue yet..  I couldn’t believe my luck of being charged $3 for him..   They are hard to find too.

COLLIEWOG

COLLIEWOG with a fig leaf to cover his ‘bits’

Colin is sometimes called, Col, Dong-Dong, and Collie Wobbles.   …SO this Golliwog is called COLLIEWOG 🙂  I will wrap him up in some sporty paper and give him for Father’s Day from me tomorrow.  I think he will like him and laugh.

I will also visit my Dad , Ted at the cemetry and take him a bottle of beer instead of flowers..

A jazzed up Golly

A jazzed up Golly

I will leave you with a quote I like and saw at the Oncology Ward this morning.   And also a wee bit of history on the Golliwog.

:BE YOURSELF; Everyone else is already taken:

  by Oscar Wilde

A SMALL BIT OF HISTORY ABOUT THE CUTE GOLLIWOGS

The golliwog, golliwogg or golly was a black character in children’s books in the late 19th century usually depicted as a type of rag doll. It was reproduced, both by commercial and hobby toy-makers as a children’s toy called the “golliwog”, and had great popularity in North AmericaEurope and Australia into the 1970s.  The doll is characterised by black skin, eyes rimmed in white, clown lips, and frizzy hair. While home-made golliwogs were sometimes female, the golliwog was generally male. For this reason, in the period following World War II, the golliwog was seen, along with the teddy bear, as a suitable soft toy for a young boy.

The image of the doll has become the subject of heated debate.  While some see the golliwog as a cherished cultural artifact and childhood tradition, others argue that the golliwog is a destructive instance of racism against people of African descent, along withpickaninniesminstrelsmammy figures, and other caricatures, and has been described as “the least known of the major anti-Black caricatures in the United States“.  In recent years, changing political attitudes with regard to race have reduced the popularity and sales of golliwogs as toys. Manufacturers who have used golliwogs as a motif have either withdrawn them as an icon, or changed the name. In particular, the association of the golliwog with the pejorative term “wog” has resulted in use of alternative names such as “golly” and “golly doll”.

IN LOVING MEMORY OF MY FATHER - TED WILLIAMS (centre)

IN LOVING MEMORY OF MY FATHER –
TED WILLIAMS (centre)

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kialtho
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 19:31:12

    My nana loves golliwogs, may I ask where you got the pattern?
    I really hope Colin gets better, it’s never nice seeing someone unwell, sounds like your whole family have been in the wars. Get well soon!!

    Reply

    • donnyjean
      Aug 31, 2013 @ 22:04:37

      Hi there, thanks very much for your kind message. I have just got home from seeing Colin again tonight, he seems a little better tonight. Yes we have had one thing after another, it is hard to believe… we are taking one day at a time. Thanks alot. And sorry I would give you the pattern for the golliwog, but I brought him from a second hand shop early in the week for $3, cheap. I was so lucky, Golliwogs are cute, especially old vintage, handmade ones. I am making him look better , jazzing him up a bit. I found out about a new website a few months ago, it is for knitters and crocheting, some of the patterns are free, have a look, you may find one on there to knit . Here is the website: http://www.ravelry.com (open your own account to view everything), it is easy, you will love it…Regards and thanks again.. Donna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

