SATURDAY SHOPPING

SATURDAY SHOPPING IN DUNEDIN

As promised I have added Alison Lambert’s Beetroot Cake recipe below for you to try.  I added seeds as well as the nuts.

Yesterday I left home really early to buy my apples from the Farmers Market, I had my Harriers Club walk on at 130pm, so had to get into town and home in time so not to rush getting changed into my shorts and shoes etc.  It was a good walk, cold and windy, we all felt like we had done something.  My foot is 95% better now 🙂

I was surprised to see that a lot of the shops in town don’t open until later?!!! weird… I wasted a bit of time by stopping in at Mojo’s for a coffee and a freebie takeway one  also with a voucher I have been wanting to use for ages.  I love their little packets of sugar they have all packaged up pretty into a triangle.   Did I tell you I love coffee…good and hot coffee. 🙂

I then had a little more time to kill, so I pulled my handy camera out of my bag and snapped some cool window displays, displays in the malls, a neat photo in Kathmandu of a Kombi van, and some pretty flowers up the alley way where a guitar playing busker performed.   I felt guilty I had no cash for him.

Today Colin and I  went for a drive in the car, went to a cafe and sat by ourselves for coffee, he had hot chocolate as when your a bit sickly you can’t always handle a coffee.   We then stopped at the St Clair restaurant ‘Salt’ to see if our niece, Gina was working.  It was a shame she wasn’t, Colin decided then he was hungry and needed some hot chips 🙂 While he can eat I need to encourage him, so we sat on high stools admiring all the walkers and passers by thru the sunny window at the popular restaurant/cafe and drunk water with our chippies. Yum.  I think Colin enjoyed our little time out.    He is very tired now, me too, after lugging some fire wood up our only steep paddock, and then mowing the lawns….it was freezing. Time for a blog post I think and a rest. 🙂 One of our cats is keeping my legs warm sitting on my lap.

Oh yeah, nearly forgot, we had our second lamb born this morning, Colin spotted it, a little black Maori one, so cute.  I got a couple of photos this afternoon.   We thought we were only getting one this year.

The Kathmandu window display

The Kathmandu window display

Saturday coffee with my knitting at Mojo's

Saturday coffee with my knitting at Mojo’s

The entrance way at the Wall Street mall

The entrance way at the Wall Street mall

So colourful

So colourful

Pretty flowers in the Albion Lane

Pretty flowers in the Albion Lane

Paper dresses hanging from the ceiling in the mall

Paper dresses hanging from the ceiling in the mall

Designer chairs in the children's sunken play area in the mall...I want one but my butt is too big :)

Designer chairs in the children’s sunken play area in the mall…I want one but my butt is too big 🙂

Paper pom poms

Paper pom poms

Printed paper banners

Printed paper banners

A super tidy Morris Minor up the main street

A super tidy Morris Minor up the main street

Our newborn baby

Our newborn baby

Are you my Mother?

Are you my Mother?

At Salt this afternoon with Colin

At Salt this afternoon with Colin

 

BEETROOT CAKE

Ingredients:

50 gms butter

100mls oil

200gms soft brown sugar

200gms self raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

300gms of grated raw beetroot (I used 3 medium sized beetroot, and peeled it first)

1 medium appled (75gms) grated

1/2 tsp mixed spice

75 gms of toasted walnuts or hazelnuts – these are optional (I added pumpkin and sunflower seeds also)

zest of one orange ( I added some juice too)

Glaze:

200 mls of water

150gms of caster or regular sugar.

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celcius.

Heat the butter in a small pot until it browns and smells nutty.  Add the oil, mix and leave to cool.

Whisk the eggs and sugar until pale and thick. Continue whisking and gradually pour in the oil and butter mixture so that is thickens and emulsifies.  Sift the flour, baking powder and spice together and fold through the egg mixture.

Add the grated beetroot and apple and remaining ingredients and mix gently together until just combined.  Pour into a greased (line it if you wish also) tin.  I did mine in a ring tin.  Bake for 40 mins to 1 hour (or until a skewer comes out clean).

To make the syrup heat the sugar and water in a small pot until the sugar dissolves.  Prick the cake all over with a skewer or fork and douse with the syrup so that the cakes soaks it all up, this will add not only flavour but moisture.  You do this after the cake is cooked.

Serves 6-8.  Serve simply with natural yoghurt.  It will keep for at least 4 days.
I made our cake Gluten Free, by adding a mixture of Gluten Free flours, and Gluten free Baking powder.

It is a nice cake and not too sweet.  It is ruby red in colour and deep and rich in flavour, it is similar to a carrot cake in technique but more like a syrup cake in texture….

Kindly provided by the NZ Chef-  Alison Lambert.

Here is the picture again.

Here is the picture again.

Bye for now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

