DUNEDIN BOTANICAL GARDENS

PRETTY FLOWERS ON A SUNNY DAY

I have just returned home from a 1 hour, 40min -10 km walk with some friends, then a quick visit into the Hospital to see Colin.  I was a bit hot and sweaty but he didn’t mind.  His neutrofils still haven’t changed, still zero 😦

SAM_0246

SAM_0247

We had a nice chat, then me moaning about a shite day at the office today.  It was good to get it all off my chest.

Up close = They look like leaves, but they are the actual flowers

Up close = They look like leaves, but they are the actual flowers

On Sunday afternoon before my visit to Colin I decided to wander around the Dunedin Botanical Gardens, they were having a special day to celebrate 150 years of the Gardens being open to the Dunedin Public.  We are very lucky to have these beautiful gardens to enjoy.

SAM_0223

SAM_0252

SAM_0218

SAM_0245

SAM_0234

SAM_0233

Various events were happening throughout the day, it was super sunny weather, I spent a good 40mins wandering by myself, talking to the ducks 🙂 then taking a few snaps of some flowers I liked the most.  Some I had never seen before, and some were very unusual.

SAM_0220 There was a few people having picnics on the lawn area while New Zealand music was playing.   It would have been nice to stay longer, but I don’t seem to have a huge amount of spare time nowadays, so I settled for the peaceful short visit I had there.

This duck kept showing me his butt / tail feathers :)

This duck kept showing me his butt / tail feathers 🙂

Succulent display in a trough, Dunedin Botanical Gardens - 150

Succulent display in a trough, Dunedin Botanical Gardens – 150

It was nice to have the sun on my head 🙂  Can’t wait until Colin can come next time.  I hope you like my pretty photos.

Yes, it is a Chinese Rhubarb plant

Yes, it is a Chinese Rhubarb plant

SAM_0232

SAM_0229

Kiddies feeding the ducks

Kiddies feeding the ducks

SAM_0236

I like this one 'freckles' ...just like me!

I like this one ‘freckles’ …just like me!

No, not buttercups

No, not buttercups

Well I have to learn to stop adding photos, I want to show them all to you….. hence, I will finish off with this veeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrry unusual plant (below)   I was trying to work out what it was?  On closer inspection I found that is was a ‘made up/pretend’ plant, made of ceramics, glass and foam rubber.   It made me laugh, I bet I haven’t been the only person that has been fooled.   It has been planted  (excuse the pun) there by some clever person or people…probably a nearby neighbour of the Gardens = some of the Scarfies (Dunedin Students) live locally.. very good 🙂

Also a quote to finish off:

“Be grateful for what you have, not regretful for what you haven’t”

Time for a coffee 🙂

SAM_0226

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

