TUESDAY

TUESDAY AGAIN

Geepers November is almost here.  The weeks are just going by.  I’ve just been into the Hospital to see Colin for a quick visit after work.   He is looking well today, he was disappointed though as his neutrofils are still .1, they haven’t risen from yesterday.  I hope tomorrow they will rise more, then possibly he WILL get home for this coming weekend.

After the hospital I met two friends to do a hilly walk around the streets of Dunedin, we walked 11kms and were away for almost 2 hours.

The link below is an email I received yesterday from a fellow Coeliac from my group.  It is funny….a rip off of the Lordes song.  I am sure other Coeliacs could relate to it and find it funny as well.  🙂  You may have to copy and paste it?  I am not the cleverist person on a computer.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/17/gluten-free-song-royals-_n_4116825.html

 My latest creation – PAINT BRUSH VASE

I have added some photos of my recently finished paintbrush vase I made.  I brought some cheap paintbrushes from the $2 shop, all in different sizes.  Some of them I had to saw the end off them as they were too tall.   A light sand and then start to glue them on – a few at a time.  I used good strong glue, and held them with bits of cardboard and rubber bands overnight before I added anymore.  The idea is to keep them straight, as the brushes are tapered.

Start glueing:

My Paintbrush Vase - the start, slowly glueing the paint brushes on to the metal vase.

My Paintbrush Vase – the start, slowly glueing the paint brushes on to the metal vase.

All glued on

All glued on

After a coat of undercoat spray paint

After a coat of undercoat spray paint

Two coats of super glossy black paint and it's finished!

Two coats of super glossy black paint and it’s finished!

I put a removable plastic cup on the inside for ease of washing without wetting the paintwork brushes.  ALL DONE, ready to use.

I put a removable plastic cup on the inside for ease of washing without wetting the paintwork brushes. ALL DONE, ready to use.

A clearer photo

A clearer photo

I pick flowers all the time for my house, so it will come in good use, and is a bit different.  Have a go at making one yourself, it was easy, and I just worked it out as I went along.   Pencils iinstead of brushes would look good too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftymadre
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 23:53:15

    What a cool idea. It would make a great gift for an art teacher. Or the pencil one for a gen ed teacher.

    Reply

    • donnyjean
      Nov 19, 2013 @ 19:47:56

      Cheers for your positive remarks. Yes, it would make a good gift for an art teacher. It is fun trying to have a go at making things, especially using found objects or reusing things. 🙂 Thanks heaps for your comments Donna 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

