I DID IT

I CROSSED THE FINISH LINE 

I did it, I finished the New Zealand Masters Games  10km walking race today in Dunedin 🙂

I was not only the 3rd girl across the finish line out of all of the females, but I also did my personal best time in a 10km race ever.  

Me leaning on the cone at  the start line... I was resting !

Me leaning on the cone at the start line… I was resting !

Look at the cute wee boys head of hair :)

Look at the cute wee boys head of hair 🙂

It was hard and extremely hot, the last 2 kms was lonnnnnnnnnng.  I stayed focused and I aimed to finish in a good time for me, but secretly wanted to walk a good race for Colin 🙂

Team sports :)

Team sports 🙂

I won a medal – Silver to my surprise 🙂  I am still grinning, a bit weary though. I have the 5km walk on Wednesday night.  I am not a quick starter, so struggle more with the shorter distance races.  I am better in the 10km ones or the half marathons.  The official results haven’t come through yet so I am not sure of how many people entered.  I met a nice chap called John towards the end, we yapped away and exchanged emails..  We crossed the line together, 1 hour 11mins. 🙂

I was pleasantly surprised by my effort as I haven’t had much time to practise these last few months.  I use to walk 5 or 6 days a week, now I only manage 2 days.   Colin dropped me off, was there at the end and stayed for the ceremony afterwards.  It was such a hot and lovely day today.  We celebrated with a nice coffee at a cafe.

My new friend

My new friend

Quite a few from my Harriers Club entered and did well for their age groups.   It was nice to watch the soccer on the way in to the start line, a great and fun atmosphere.  I think there may be a few sunburnt people tonight.  I always wear a hat to shield my face a bit.

SAM_1280

I better get some shut eye soon for work tomorrow and to gain some energy for Wednesday.  

I did it and wasn't crawling

I did it and wasn’t crawling

Me in my black and white Harriers Club top

Me in my black and white Harriers Club top

 

Leave a Reply

