SHAVE FOR A CURE

FUNDRAISER

Shave for a Cure is Leukemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand’s signature fundraising event.

Don, a friend of ours is going to shave his hair shortly for this great cause.  Don is in our car club and has a  type of Leukemia too, he has to be careful too and has to try and avoid getting run down and be around people with the flu.  His type of Leukemia is controllable with medication,  luckily it doesn’t require chemotherapy.   Don has decided to put his name forward to shave all of his hair off for this worthwhile cause.  Good on him 🙂

This is what Don wrote on his page:

Welcome to my Shave fundraising page!  I’ve decided to do this crazy thing for an amazing cause. Shave for a Cure is Leukemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand’s signature fundraising event. Every year thousands of individuals, schools and businesses across the country whip out the clippers and shave their locks in a bid to help the 6 Kiwis a day diagnosed with a blood cancer or related condition. Shave-tastic! LBC receives no government funding. Please sponsor me and help me support this great cause. It’s simple, fast and totally secure. Just click the ‘sponsor’ button to your right, whip out your credit card, and LBC will email you a receipt directly. Many thanks for your support.
Leukemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand (LBC) is the national organisation dedicated to supporting patients and their families living with a blood cancer – leukemia, lymphoma or myeloma or a related blood condition.
These include supporting patients and their families across the country, providing information and education sessions, support and funding for research, raising awareness about the diseases and advocating on behalf of patients.
A photo of Dee who is shaving her hair off for her Daughter, Paige

A photo of Dee who is shaving her hair off for her Daughter, Paige

 This morning I went to work earlier than normal and looked up the home page for this Leukemia and Blood Cancer New Zealand fundraiser.  Although we aren’t receiving much money/wages at the moment, we are so grateful for Colin’s help from the Cancer Society, we had to Sponsor Don with $20.   The money will be going to a worthwhile cause.  If you would like to sponsor Don or anyone with or without your name, please do so 🙂

http://www.shaveforacure.co.nz

There is some great stories to read also, go on , have a look at the Website ..  Read about  two Auckland two year old girls being treated in the Oncology Ward at the same time.  They were both receiving chemo for  acute lymphoblastic leukemia.  They were in adjacent beds and have  become good friends.    Their Mums are now going to shave their heads too, this is what they wrote:

“Amy and I decided to be vulnerable, as our daughters are, to shave our beautiful locks to support Leukemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand.  When we heard about Shave for a Cure it was the natural fit for both of us,” says Marika.

Ella and Charlotte

Ella and Charlotte with their Mums

What a beautiful story 🙂

Tomorrow is Friday, yay, it has been a hard and lonnnnnnnnnnnnnnng week at work.  I have been to the Dentist after work today to finish the second part of my Root Canal $900 later … I might be a pauper, but at least I am now out of pain.

On Saturday morning I am meeting two friends at a Dunedin Cafe at 1030am for a coffee and chat,…and possibly a cake?  I hope they have Gluten Free food.   We are meeting up at The Black Dog Cafe  on the main street of town.  I have never been there before, the company will be the best, I just hope the coffee will be super too.  I am looking forward to it, as I haven’t seen them for ages and I also want to tell them about my holiday to Australia as they too are friends of Bren too  🙂

Another photo of Brenda and I in Brisbane.

Another photo of Brenda and I in Brisbane.

Finishing this post with a photo of my Sister,  Brenda and I in the heat, I had to use a spare set of her sunglasses over there, which I kept 🙂 Geez…..I miss that sun and you too Bren….I know  you are reading this!!!    xxx

Time for bed soon.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

