CARROT CAKE

MAREE’S SURPRISE CAKE

I made my friend Maree a carrot & apple cake last night, I smothered it in cream cheese icing and arrived on her doorstep for 5 mins with it and some tomatoes out of our glasshouse.  I text (or is it texted?) her first, she didn’t answer so I assumed I was leaving it on her doorstep in a covered-in container ,so the cats didn’t eat here.

Maree's carrot and apple cake and tommies and little tea pot I purchased yesterday for $2 for her to knit another cosy

Maree’s carrot and apple cake and tommies and little tea pot I purchased yesterday for $2 for her to knit another cosy

What a laugh to find her at the doorstep around the side of her house, sitting on a deck chair knitting something for her Aunty, beside her was a teapot and cup.  She just about shit herself when she saw my pink sweatshirt 🙂    I didn’t expect her to be sitting there either.  She wasn’t even sitting in the sun, but has no where else to sit outside.  At least she was getting some fresh air, and will have some nice afternoon tea.  

I also made a Gluten Free version last night too, it is a little crumbly but tastes good.   I modified the normal recipe with potato and rice flours.  I haven’t baked a carrot cake for such a long time, the last G Free one I made was at Christmas time two years ago, Colin’s family wouldn’t eat it!    It was so heavy like a brick, you could break a window with it.  I explained to them, people with Coeliac Disease don’t often have a choice, we have to either ‘ like it or lump it’, I thought it was ok at the time.    I remember taking it home to pig out later.   Last nights one is much moister, I put extra oil in it and lots of nuts and seeds.  Now our Daughter also has Coeliac Disease, she enjoyed last nights effort too.

Carrot cake is Maree’s favourite cake, I overheard her saying that the other day. She doesn’t like nuts, so the icing was bald.  Colin was waiting in the car for a drive down the bay/peninsula road and a visit to the Broad Bay China Shop when we dropped it off first.   After we nattered way too long.,…Colin turned the engine off on the car, yap, yap , yap     😦   oops.

Us girls have a lot in common = our birthdays are a week apart, therefore we are both Pisces, we both like sweet foods/chocolate, and we LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE making and creating things, especially things out of the ordinary. She also has a good sense of humour too, I try to make light of things and have a laugh as much as possible too. 

I met Maree at my Art Classes I attend a year ago.  She is about 6 years younger than I but age doesn’t mean a thing.   She is a great knitter and is very creative, she has been to Art School and gained a Certificate in Art and Design.   

We haven’t really had a chance to go out together outside of our Art Class yet but send the odd email and text to each other in between classes.  One day when there is time, we will do something…she can have a cup of tea somewhere, I will have coffee.  🙂

At our Art Class we are all knitting or sewing or felting cosies for the Tea Party coming up to raise money for the Hospice.  The group that is organizing the High Tea is going to auction the cosies off at the event.  We have probably all made around 20 so far 🙂   Maree has made some great cosies so far.   They are fun and whacky, one has a knitted gold fish on top of it. 

The neat tea cosies my friend at works Mum made for the Hospice fundraiser coming up.

The neat tea cosies my friend at works Mum made for the Hospice fundraiser coming up.

Up close

Up close

A small purchase at the China Shop, then put petrol in the Nissan, then Colin and I brought  an ice cream and munched it while sitting in the Octagon ‘people watching’.   Then I walked home, (I took my shoes with me just incase I had some energy left). Of course Colin bet me home  in the car 😛      I did it hard,  it took an hour and 5 mins with a huge hill to tackle.  It was nice and sunny, my back was wet and a red face to match my hot feet when I finally made it, the fresh air has done me good.  Time for a rest, Otago Anniversary holiday is almost over…

A pretty window taken in Cromwell recently

A pretty window taken in Cromwell recently

Have a good week.

A special hi to Brenda and Beata 🙂

Donna

An old photo of Deefa, our Border Collie.   He was playing all cute, wanting food.

An old photo of Deefa, our Border Collie. He was playing all cute, wanting food.

Leave a Reply

