THE PINEAPPLE TRACK

I MISSED THE BOAT !

Oh dear, yesterday I missed meeting my Harriers Club for the start of our huge 3 hour walk doing The Pineapple Track.  I mucked up the time, I checked the emails to check on the time of meeting, it was 12 50pm , shit we were suppose to meet at 12 50pm!!!

Lucky I had my shorts and walking gear on and most of the essentials in my back pack ready.  I basically threw everything, run around in a circle, texted two friends that were going to tell them I was on my way and coming.  

I had a fair way to drive, …when I arrived at our meeting place, there was only our club runners there, they leave later.  😦

My bottom lip came out, I was so disappointed as it is a good, hard walk with superb views of Dunedin City.  It is more of a Tramp , mountain hiking more than street walks we are used to. I had been looking forward to it.  None of the runners knew exactly the way to find the entrance to the track, the chap in charge with the map wasn’t there.  
I didn’t want to go home and I am so stubborn, I thought I would try to catch them.   The runners sent me 10 mins the wrong direction, damn!  I asked a Post Lady, she told me to go a completely different way. 

I then started running with a back pack and my big camera on my back.   I took a guess what street to take, it was a good 15 min run on the road to get to the track.  

I was knackered already and could hardly breathe, but wanted to keep going. 🙂  The start of the walk is straight up, through some bush, then out in the open, in the sun.  It was a perfect day for the walk, sunny and no wind.  🙂 On the top of the hill, among the tussocks and rocks there was ice and snow sprinkled everywhere.  

I couldn’t see anyone for miles, only people coming down the hill , I asked them if there were any walkers ahead, all the while I didn’t seem to be catching them or making up time.  My breathing was still fast.  I managed to take a few photos along the way, but didn’t stop for a break. I knew my walkers friends would be stopping for 3 short breaks as it is a very hard and hilly walk.   I was 20 mins late leaving, too much time for me to catch them really.

The slow pack runners from my club finally caught up with me, I was relieved to see some of my Club as it was sort of scary being alone doing this walk, if I got lost and I was going a little dizzy.   They invited me to run slowly with them down the hill 🙂    I was on their tail, being careful not to fall, at the bottom of the hill I caught the slow walkers.  I said Hi, they were surprised to see me…I yelled out…I have new friends in the club now and kept running, they laughed.

I continued to run, slowly, we were now on the gravel road, then we hit the main road, another big hill to go down back to our meeting place at the bottom of the hill.  I just kept going. I ran behind the other runners, I am a bit tired today and achy. A bit stiff-arsed,  I was so pleased with my efforts, although I didn’t really see the Walkers, I finally caught the Fast pack of walkers with about 500 metres to go.  We yapped at the end. I think they were impressed with my efforts too doing the whole thing without a break.

I would love to know how far it is, I have never run that far for years, it was hard going with a back pack and holding my coat as well, but I did it.  

Next year, I will make sure I read the email of departure times properly.   😛  I think I am losing it in my old age 😛  The fresh air and time alone did me good,  I think. 

It is the 1st of June today, so officially NZ Music Month is finished. 

Colin and I are going to a movie tonight for a change.  My friend, Martin  in my club recommended it   ‘The trip to Italy’.    We haven’t been to the Movies for ages.   I am looking forward to it.  🙂  It will be great too as we don’t have to go to work tomorrow, we have the day off to celebrate the Queen’s Birthday.  

A simple quote I will leave you with – ” It’s better late, than never! “

At the start of the walk

At the start of the walk

Looking down the track, trying to get a breath.

Looking down the track, trying to get a breath.

Looking across to Mount Cargill

Looking across to Mount Cargill

Taking a selfie of my shadow and trying to work out which way to continue.

Taking a selfie of my shadow and trying to work out which way to continue.

This was some of the terrain

This was some of the terrain

Wonderful views, I'm on top of the hill among the flaxes and tussocks and still can't see the others.

Wonderful views, I’m on top of the hill among the flaxes and tussocks and still can’t see the others.

My shadow and I

My shadow and I

 

DUNEDIN CITY , I love living here :)  This is when the runners caught up with me.

DUNEDIN CITY , I love living here 🙂 This is when I met the runners.

Leave a Reply

