POKAREKARE ANA

THREE VERSIONS OF THE MAORI SONG – ‘POKAREKARE ANA’

After at hard day at work, …..actually a terrible day at work today, I thought I would cheer myself up by playing a couple of songs I like.

I love the  History of the Maoris and I also love living in New Zealand, even though it is freezing cold today 🙂

I love this song, I thought I would share it with you.

The last one is sung by New Zealand’s (Christchurch) talented Hayley Westerna.

The song originates from the Maori troops when they were training for World War One.

The song was then modified to an action song about the courtship of Paraire Tomoana’s 1912 courtship of Kuini Raerena.  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DANPs-YjFdk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-Vu9VvFJc4

Leave a Reply

